West Bengal State Government Public Holidays in New Year 2017

West Bengal State Government Public Holidays in New Year 2017:

The Government of West Bengal notified referring the section of negotiable instrument Act, 1881, ministry of home affairs where the governor is please to declare the public holidays for the year 2015. This is the authorized official calendar holidays for the new year 2017 in regard to the schools and offices.

The West Bengal government holidays is for Bengalis who want to celebrate their festival in deed with full fun. The negotiable acts referred by this West Bengal state government fixes the dates for the holidays 2015. No schools, universities, colleges, offices, companies remain open on this list of West Bengal holidays in the year 2017.


West Bengal Public Holidays in 2017:
Birthday of Swami Vivekananda – 12th January – Thursday
Birthday of Netaji – 23rd January – Monday
Republic Day – 26th January – Thursday
Saraswati Puja [Sree Panchami] – 1st February – Wednesday
Doljatra – 12th March – Sunday
Yearly closing of Bank Account – 1st April – Saturday
Good Friday & Birth day of Dr.B.R. Ambedkar – 14th April – Friday
Bengali New Year’s Day – 15th April – Saturday
May Day – 1st May – Monday
Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore – 9th May – Tuesday
Id-Ul-Fitar – 26th June – Monday
Independence Day – 15th August, – Tuesday
Id-Ud-Joha – 2nd September – Saturday
Mahalaya – 19th September – Tuesday
Mahasaptami – 27th September – Wednesday
Mahaastami – 28th September – Thursday
Mahanabami – 29th September – Friday
Vijaya Dasami – 30th September – Saturday
Muharram – 1st October – Sunday
Birthday of Gandhiji – 2nd October – Monday
Lakshmi Puja – 5th October – Thursday
Kalipuja – 19th October – Thursday
Birthday of Guru Nanak – 4th November – Saturday
Christmas Day – 25th December – Monday

WB Restricted Holidays New Year 2017:
New Year’s Day [2017] – 1st January – Sunday
Shivaratri – 24th February – Friday
Day after Doljatra [Holi] – 13th March – Monday
Birth day of Poet Bhanu Bhakt [for Darjeeling District only] – 13th July – Thursday
Janmastami – 14th August – Monday
Mahasasthi of Durgapuja – 26th September – Tuesday
Additional day in connection with Durgapuja – 3rd October – Tuesday
Ekadashi of Durgapuja – 1st October – Sunday
Additional day for Lakshmipuja – 6th October – Friday
Additional day in connection with Kalipuja – 20th October – Friday
Additional day in connection with Kalipuja & Bhatridwitya – 21st October – Saturday
Fateha-Dwaz-Daham – 2nd December – Saturday

Sectional Holidays 2017 List:
Mahabir Jayanti – 9th April – Sunday
Easter Saturday – 15th April – Saturday
Baisakhi – 15th April – Saturday
Buddha Purnima – 10th May – Wednesday
Sab-e-Barat – 12th May – Friday
Chhat Puja – 26th October – Thursday




Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
ManoKannan Recent comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Notify of

Can i get the West Bengal state restricted holidays list for the year 2017


How to get the SBI Bank holidays for the year 2017 in the state of West Bengal